Bed Industry Awards: Bed and Bed Manufacturer of the Year revealed

The Bed of the Year and Bed Manufacturer of the Year have been revealed, alongside the top component awards.

Sleepeezee was awarded the Bed Product of the Year for its Centurial 3 mattress, a celebratory launch ahead of the manufacturer’s 100-year birthday. 

Centurial provides exceptional levels of comfort through an impressive array of natural fillings, including Talalay latex, British wool and alpaca wool. The judges commended the mattress for looking opulent and feeling substantial. It is glue free, 100% recyclable at the end of life, and backed up with excellent POS for the independent retailer. Additionally, the judges acknowledged it being great value for money and for each sale, a donation will be made to a homeless charity.

The judges highly commended Sealy UK’s Posturepedic Exquisite Indulgence Plush mattress, with its integrated technology and proven components that produces a bed that looks and feels superb.

The finalists were Millbrook Beds for its Opulent Supreme 5000 range and Komfi for its KomfiMed range.

The judges were Steve Adams (Mattress Online), Sue Davies (Sue Davies Design Solutions), James Dunne (Prestige Beds), Paul Farley (Furniture News) and Becca Maloy (AIS).

Jay-Be scooped the trophy for Bed Manufacturer of the Year. 

Aiming for global growth and demonstrating the extent of its ambition on many fronts, Jay-Be has seen its customer base expand greatly, alongside two Which? Best Buy accolades.

The Yorkshire-based manufacturer’s product development focuses on sustainability with the use of recycled materials and more recyclable designs. Judges were impressed by Jay-Be’s innovative approaches, such as the use of 3D printing and computer robots to produce exciting new concepts, efficiencies and improved customer service. Clutching a fistful of certifications, the company is now reaching out aggressively on the export side, initially to the USA, Canada and New Zealand and Europe.

Harrison Spinks, Hypnos and Sealy UK were finalists.

The judges were Richard De Melim (Furnishing Report), David Fitzsimons (Oakdene Hollins and European Manufacturing Council) and Jonathan Hindle (British Furniture Confederation and KI Europe).

Component Supplier of the Year was awarded to The Vita Group. 

Taking responsibility is at the heart of The Vita Group’s approach and it is proud of its initiatives to measure and reduce its environmental impact – such as the Orbis range, using polyols from used foam and its Lifecycle Analysis tool, measuring the environmental impact of its products. 

Vita aims to look after its customers and its people in equal measure, with customer contact across many departments and a new engagement manager role focusing on staff welfare.

The finalists were John Cotton Nonwovens and Spinks.

The judges were Paul Farley (Furniture News), David Fitzsimons (Oakdene Hollins and European Manufacturing Council) and Jonathan Hindle (British Furniture Confederation and KI Europe).

John Cotton Nonwovens took home this year’s Component Product of the Year trophy for its new ECO₂Blend, a carbon-negative polyester binder fibre. Manufactured from recycled PET and biowaste gases, ECO₂Blend reduces its environmental impact by delivering a negative carbon output and a lowered carbon footprint and is 100% recyclable at the end of life.

The judges commended the innovative approach to developing the fibre as a huge step forward, coupled with the ambitions to extend it across a broader range of polyesters without compromising performance or adversely impacting affordability.

The judges also highly commended The Vita Group’s Orbis flexible polyurethane foam. Orbis is a truly circular solution, manufactured from 20% recycled polyols and derived from post-consumer waste mattresses, with substantiations for every claim.

The judges were Natalie Armstrong (Sealy UK), Danny Blackmore (Silentnight) and Dave Morris (Sleepeezee).

‘The industry renowned Bed Industry Awards are a valued opportunity to recognise the standout companies and individuals in the UK and Irish bed sector. Congratulations to all the worthy winners and finalists and those who put themselves forward to be judged,’ says Jim Gerety, National Bed Federation president.

The awards ceremony closed with a special Lifetime Achievement Award for Jessica Alexander, former NBF executive director for 17 years, before stepping down in spring 2023, with Tristine Hargreaves taking the helm.

NBF-1742-NBF-Awards-Logo-Update-2023-300x292 (1)


And receive a glossy copy of our magazine straight to your door

Subscribe to our newsletter

Receive weekly industry news straight to your inbox.

I agree with the Terms and Conditions and the Privacy Policy detailed at the bottom of this website.